DIY Harry Potter Kindle Cover

At my cousin’s request, I went in search of a tutorial for a Harry Potter Kindle Cover.  I took bits and pieces from tutorials I found on Pinterest to create the one I am about to share with you.  In my excitement to get to the fun parts of the project I did not take as many pictures as I normally would have.  If you have questions about any of the steps described below, please feel free to comment and I will try my best to explain it.

Supplies you will need:

  • Felt in assorted colors
  • Coordinating thread
  • Scissors
  • Sewing machine
  • Hot glue gun
  • Pen and paper for sketching

Image

Instructions:

1. Size the ‘flesh’ colored felt to your Kindle (or whatever device you are making the cover for).  Leave roughly an inch of material around the device to allow for sewing room.  (Optional step: I added two layers of batting before layering the inside fabric.  I wanted to have some cushion to protect the screen)ImageImage

2. Sew your felt together on the sides and the bottom, leaving the top as the opening for the cover.  Double check the fit for your Kindle one last time before folding down the two top pieces of the cover and hiding all the layers and frayed edges. At this point you should have the sleeve completed and ready to create the details for your character!

3.  Using a paper and pen, sketch out Harry’s hair, glasses and lightening bolt scar. For his Gryffindor scarf, I just cut a one inch strip of gold felt and 8 pieces of maroon felt for the strip.

Image

5. Cut out the pieces to the appropriate felt colors.  Place them on your cover to get an idea of placement and spacing. (This is also a good time to Google the location of your Hero’s scar.  This was a hot topic of discussion as we were deciding on the left or right side of his forehead!)

Image

6. I decided to work on the scarf first. Using a hot glue gun, wrap the gold felt strip from the back to the front.  Then add your maroon stripes.  Next I glued down the hair.  Assisted by the top of the cover, I lined the top of Harry’s hair with the top of the cover.  Next place the lightening bolt scar just under Harry’s hair and hot glue everything in place.  Lastly add his signature glasses to complete his face!

7. Trim off any leftover pieces of thread or slightly uneven felt pieces.  Rub off the hot glue “webbing”.  Proudly slip your Kindle into the fabulous Harry Potter cover you just made!

ImageImageImageImage

One thought on “DIY Harry Potter Kindle Cover

  1. Pingback: Friday finds – a list of gifts to make for a 7 year old boy (with links to free tutorials) | a little bird made me

Leave a Reply

