DIY Bike Chain Picture Frame

Image

Guess how much this gift cost me. Nothing! It was free thanks to my local REI.  I went to the store with the intention of buying the cheapest bike chain available. After explaining my project to the bike mechanic, he reached towards a wall of old dirty chains and offered me various sizes that would fit my frame. He cleaned up two chains for me and sent me on my way, free of charge. Turns out REI keeps old broken chains to repair broken links, resell at discounted prices or for DIY projects like mine! I’m sure you can check your local bike shops for the same deal.

So here is a list of what you need:
Picture frame
Bike chain that will fit the border of the frame
Super glue
Photo

Image

I gave my chain a scrubbing with simple green (non-toxic cleaner, safe for pregnant women like me!). Placed it around the frame and glued it down every few links to make sure it wasn’t going to slip off since the chain is a little heavy. Insert photo and wrap it up! This would be a great gift for the avid cyclist or the casual bike lover in your life.

ImageImage

2 thoughts on “DIY Bike Chain Picture Frame

  1. Pingback: Portafotos 100% biker | martínbike.es

  2. Pingback: Upcycle your Bicycle – Performance Bicycle Blog

Leave a Reply

